Updated Oct 22, 2026· 11 min read

Key takeaways

  • Nine DIY home security systems compared by piece count, connectivity, monitoring terms and extras, with notes on listing claims that conflict.

For a household that wants a recognizable brand with an optional monitoring plan, SimpliSafe and Ring are the best-known kits in this group, while the bigger, lower-cost sets from tolviviov, D1D9, PGST and Hapippofa advertise no monthly fee and pack in more sensors. Cove sits in the middle with a short monitoring period and a free camera offer. Everything here is taken from listing titles, and several titles contradict themselves, so each entry flags what to confirm before you buy.

Quick picks by priority

  • Brand-name kit, monitoring optional: SimpliSafe 8-piece or Ring Alarm 8-piece
  • Largest Ring kit: Ring Alarm 14-piece (monitoring wording needs checking)
  • Most sensors with no monthly fee: D1D9 24-piece or PGST 24-piece
  • Touchscreen hub with a wired siren: Hapippofa GEN 2
  • Starter pack with a camera offer: Cove 6-piece

All nine at a glance

Model Key point from the title Best for
tolviviov 15-Piece WiFi Kit 120dB alarm, 8-hour backup battery, no monthly fee Renters and small homes
Ring Alarm 8-piece (2nd Gen) Optional 24/7 professional monitoring Brand-name starter kit
D1D9 24-piece 4G WiFi GSM No monthly fee, app alerts Large sensor count
Ring Alarm 14-Piece (newest) Expandable, Alexa, monitoring named Larger homes
SimpliSafe 8-piece No contract, optional monitoring, Alexa and Google Commitment-free monitoring
PGST 9-Piece WiFi+4G, no monthly fees, auto alarm dial Low-cost entry
PGST 24-Piece Alarm Kit Smart Life or Tuya app, SOS button, apartment use Apartments with many openings
Cove 6-Piece 3 months monitoring, free indoor camera after setup Small spaces with a camera
Hapippofa GEN 2 16-Piece Touchscreen hub, 120dB wired siren, no monthly fee Houses and apartments

The nine kits, one at a time

tolviviov 15-Piece WiFi Home Security System, No Subscription

The title lists a 15-piece WiFi alarm kit with a 120dB siren, an 8-hour backup battery, instant app alerts, DIY installation, no monthly fee and room to expand. The backup battery is the detail to value, since it keeps the hub alive during a power cut. The title does not say what sensors are in the 15 pieces, so check the contents list to confirm the door and motion split. The brand is unfamiliar, so check the support and warranty details. Also confirm the hub’s power adapter and how long the battery lasts with the siren sounding, not just idle.

Pros

  • 8-hour backup battery named
  • No monthly fee in the title

Cons

  • Piece breakdown is not given
  • Unfamiliar brand, so check support

Who it’s for: Renters and small-home owners who want an alarm without a subscription.

Ring Alarm 8-piece Kit (2nd Gen)

Ring’s second-generation 8-piece kit lists optional 24/7 professional monitoring in the title. The word optional is the key point: the system can run without the paid plan, though the features available without it are not spelled out in the title. Voice assistant support is not stated in this title, so check the listing if that matters to you. A well-known ecosystem means easier support and add-ons, and the 8-piece size is a reasonable fit for a two-bedroom home or apartment, although the title does not list which sensors are in the box.

Pros

  • Optional monitoring, not required
  • Large ecosystem of add-on devices

Cons

  • Features without a plan are not detailed
  • Alexa and other compatibility not in this title

Who it’s for: Households that want a brand name and may add monitoring later.

D1D9 24pcs Wireless DIY Home Burglar Alarm System, 4G WiFi GSM

Twenty-four pieces is the joint-highest count here (the other 24-piece kit is from PGST), and the title lists 4G, WiFi and GSM connectivity, no monthly fee and app alerts. A big kit is useful for larger homes with many windows. It is also less certain, since the title does not say what the pieces are, whether a SIM is included or which app runs it. Treat it as a lower-cost option that needs a careful read of the contents. Check that sensors are battery-powered and that spare batteries are easy to buy, since 24 devices means 24 batteries to maintain.

Pros

  • 24 pieces for many entry points
  • No monthly fee in the title

Cons

  • Piece types are not listed
  • SIM and data plan details are not stated

Who it’s for: Owners of bigger homes who want many sensors for the money.

Ring Alarm 14-Piece Kit (Newest Model)

The 14-piece Ring kit adds more sensors for larger spaces, and the title lists expandable, easy setup, mobile control, Alexa compatibility and 24/7 professional monitoring. Unlike the 8-piece listing, this title does not say optional, so check the listing for how monitoring is billed. It is the highest-cost kit here, so it suits a house with several floors or many openings. Read the listing to see which sensors, keypad and range extender are included, because the title does not itemize them.

Pros

  • 14 pieces for larger homes
  • Alexa compatibility in the title

Cons

  • Monitoring wording is unclear
  • Highest cost among the kits

Who it’s for: Larger homes that want a brand-name, expandable system.

SimpliSafe 8 Piece Wireless Home Security System, White

Another well-known kit, with 8 pieces, optional 24/7 professional monitoring, no contract and compatibility with Alexa and Google Assistant. No contract means you can start or stop monitoring without being locked in, though pricing is on the plan page. White is the color. It sits close to the Ring 8-piece on paper, so choose by app and ecosystem, and compare the cameras and sensors each company sells for later expansion.

Pros

  • No contract per the title
  • Alexa and Google Assistant compatibility

Cons

  • Contents of the 8 pieces are not listed
  • Monitoring pricing is outside the title

Who it’s for: Households that value commitment-free monitoring.

PGST Home Security System 9-Piece, WiFi+4G, No Monthly Fees

This lowest-priced listing names Alexa and Google compatibility, WiFi and 4G, door and window sensors, motion detectors, a remote and an auto alarm dial. It also says 24/7 monitoring in the same breath as no monthly fees, which are conflicting claims. Check what monitoring means before relying on it. The low cost makes it a trial option rather than a long-term backbone, so keep the return window in mind and set it up soon after delivery.

Pros

  • Lowest listed cost here
  • Door, window and motion sensors named

Cons

  • Monitoring claim conflicts with no fees
  • Unfamiliar brand

Who it’s for: Small apartments on a tight budget who will verify the details.

PGST Wireless Home Alarm System, 24 Pcs DIY Kit

A 24-piece PGST kit for apartments, with WiFi and GSM/4G, Smart Life or Tuya app control, window and motion sensors, an SOS button and no monthly fees. Tuya-based apps are generic platforms shared across many brands, so check the app’s privacy terms and update history. It matches the D1D9 kit in size, so compare the two sensor lists and the app terms side by side before choosing.

Pros

  • 24 pieces and an SOS button
  • App platform is a common one

Cons

  • Third-party app platform
  • Sensor split not given

Who it’s for: Apartment dwellers with many windows and a smart-home habit.

Cove 6 Piece DIY Home Security System with 3-Mo Monitoring

Cove’s 6-piece kit includes three months of monitoring, motion sensors and a free indoor camera after account setup, and it is expandable through one Cove app. The offer implies a plan after the trial, so read the terms for what happens in month four. The free camera also depends on completing account setup. A smaller kit suits smaller homes, and if you outgrow it the expandable claim means you can add devices, although the title does not say which.

Pros

  • Short monitoring period included
  • Camera offer in the title

Cons

  • Plan after three months is not described
  • Camera is conditional on account setup

Who it’s for: Small homes where the trial and a camera appeal.

Hapippofa GEN 2 Wireless Home Security System, 16-Piece

The 16-piece kit has a WiFi and 4G touchscreen hub, door sensors, motion detectors, app alerts and a 120dB wired siren, with no monthly fee. A wired siren is unusual in a wireless kit, so check where it plugs in. The touchscreen hub likely means you can arm the system without a phone, which helps guests and older relatives. As with the other lesser-known kits, check support and software updates, and ask whether the siren cable length reaches your preferred spot.

Pros

  • Touchscreen hub
  • Wired 120dB siren

Cons

  • Wired siren needs an outlet
  • Unfamiliar brand

Who it’s for: Homes where a wall hub is handy and a phone is not always at hand.

How we picked these

We took the nine listings that matched the search and read each title for piece count, connectivity, monitoring wording and extras. Several titles make claims that do not add up, and we flag them. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. The basis is published specifications, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews, and every feature below is taken from the title or marked as unconfirmed.

What to weigh in a DIY security kit

Count your entry points first

Walk the property and list every door, ground-floor window and sliding door. Then plan one contact sensor per opening, one motion sensor per main room, and a siren that you can hear from the bedroom. Worked example: a two-bedroom apartment with a front door, a balcony slider and four windows needs six contact sensors, two motion sensors for the hall and living room, and a keypad or remote, which already lands near the 9 to 16 piece range. The table gives a rough scale.

Home type Typical openings Kit size to look at
Studio or one-bedroom apartment 1 to 2 doors, 2 windows 8 to 9 pieces
Two-bedroom home 3 doors, 5 windows 14 to 16 pieces
Two-story house 4 doors, 10 windows 20 pieces or more

Subscription terms

List what the kit does without a plan: local siren, app alerts, backup battery. Then list what needs a plan: monitoring, video storage, cellular backup. Titles that skip this are unclear, and a missing answer should be treated as a paid feature until the seller says otherwise. Ask what happens to the hub’s alerts if you cancel a plan.

Connectivity and backup

WiFi-only hubs fail when the router does. A battery backup and cellular link keep alerts flowing, but check whether a SIM or plan is included.

App and platform

A well-supported app gets updates. Tuya-style platforms are common but vary by brand, so check that the app is still maintained and what data it collects.

Safety basics

A security kit does not replace smoke or carbon monoxide alarms. Check local rules on alarm registration, keep the siren away from small children and place sensors where pets will not trigger them. Mount the hub where you can reach it quickly if the siren sounds, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions for battery replacement.

Mistakes buyers make

Buying on piece count alone is the common one, since 24 pieces may be mostly spare remotes. Others include ignoring the monitoring terms, forgetting the hub needs a power outlet, placing motion sensors facing windows or heat vents, and skipping a monthly check of sensor batteries. Choosing an unfamiliar brand without checking support is another risk. Many buyers also forget to tell household members the arming code, then trigger a 120dB siren on the first morning. Run a trial alarm with everyone present before you rely on the system.

Verdict

For a recognizable ecosystem, SimpliSafe and the Ring 8-piece are the least ambiguous choices, and the 14-piece Ring suits larger homes once its monitoring wording is checked. For sensor count at low cost, D1D9, PGST and Hapippofa deserve a close look at contents and support. Cove suits small spaces.

Questions buyers ask

Do DIY home security systems work without a monthly fee?

Many do for the basics: sensors talk to a hub, the siren sounds and the app sends alerts. Titles such as tolviviov, D1D9 and Hapippofa say no monthly fee. What you give up is usually a professional monitoring center that calls for help. Check each listing for which features need a paid plan, such as video storage or monitoring.

Is professional monitoring worth adding to a DIY kit?

It adds a human response if you are away or cannot hear the siren, at the cost of a recurring plan. Ring, SimpliSafe and Cove all mention monitoring in their titles; Ring and SimpliSafe call it optional. Weigh the price against how often you are away, and read the contract terms and cancellation rules before signing up.

What does WiFi plus 4G mean in a kit title?

It suggests the hub can connect over your home network and fall back to a cellular link if broadband fails. The titles do not say whether a SIM or data plan is included, so check the listing. Without a working cellular link, an internet outage can leave the system unable to send alerts.

Why do some titles say no monthly fee and also mention 24/7 monitoring?

The PGST 9-piece listing mentions both, and the two claims pull in opposite directions. The monitoring may be a separate paid service, an app feature or loose wording. Treat it as unconfirmed until the seller explains it, and do not count on it for emergency response.

Can a DIY kit replace smoke and carbon monoxide alarms?

No. Burglar alarm kits and fire alarms are different devices, and a security hub is not a replacement for certified smoke or carbon monoxide detectors. Keep dedicated detectors on each floor and near sleeping areas, check them on a schedule and follow the manufacturer’s guidance for replacement dates.

Related guides

E
Emil Broker Editorial Team
We compare specs, materials and verified owner reviews before a product earns a spot. Rankings are never paid.
Affiliate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Prices accurate as of the date shown.
9 Best DIY Home Security Systems (October 2026)Check price on Amazon